Press Release: Dr. David M. Gershenson Named Chairman of the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation

Chicago (March 4, 2009)—The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation (GCF) announces the election of Dr. David M. Gershenson as its new chairman effective immediately. Dr. Gershenson replaces Dr. Karl C. Podratz who completed his six-year term as chairman.

Dr. Gershenson is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Gynecologic Oncology and J. Taylor Wharton, MD Distinguished Chair in Gynecologic Oncology at The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. He has a long-standing research interest in rare ovarian tumors. Dr. Gershenson has published over 320 peer-reviewed articles, over 145 book chapters and has edited six major textbooks. He is recognized internationally as an ovarian cancer expert and has been listed in “The Best Doctors in America” in American Health magazine, Good Housekeeping‘s “Best Doctors in America for Women,” “America’s Top Doctors” in Castle Connolly’s Guide, in Woodward & White’s “Best Doctors in America,” and in the Guide to America’s Top Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

A former president of the Society of Gynecologic Oncologists (SGO), Dr. Gershenson said, “I am extremely pleased to chair GCF at this exciting time in the evolution of our foundation. As we expand our research program and broaden our outreach to include information for all the women of America rather than primarily those diagnosed with a gynecologic cancer, the Board and staff are energized by the opportunities ahead.”

Dr. John P. Curtin replaces Dr. Gershenson as treasurer of the organization. Other members of the Board of Directors are: Dr. Jeffrey M. Fowler, Membership Chair: Dr. William J. Hoskins, Development Chair; Dr. Thomas J. Herzog, Awards Chair, Dr. Carol L. Brown, Communications Chair:; Dr. Julian C. Schink, Advocacy Chair; Dr. Carolyn Muller, WCN Committee Chair; Jeff Boyd, PhD, Associate Member Representative; Dr. Tyler Kirby, Candidate Member Representative; Dr. David G. Mutch, SGO President; Dr. Thomas W. Burke, SGO Past President; Dr. Karl C. Podratz, GCF Past Chairman; and five Members-At-Large: Dr. Eva Chalas, Dr. Robert L. Coleman, Dr. Mark H. Einstein, Dr. Cheryl C. Saenz and Dr. Vivian E. von Gruenigen.

For more information about the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation and cancers unique to women, please visit GCF’s Women’s Cancer Network (

The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation provides information on the leading types of cancer including gynecologic cancers—ovarian cancer, endometrial cancer and cervical cancer. Visit to read about cervical, endometrial and ovarian cancer survivor stories and gather additional information on cancer statistics, graphs and charts, as well as clinical trials for cancer and new cancer treating drugs.


Visit the Sisterhood of Survivorship page to read “Dena’s Story” — by a vulvar cancer survivor who has shared her story and wise words, and channeled her energy into her National Race to End Women’s Cancer team.


Vaccine efficacy against vulvar infection with HPV 16/18 was comparable to the efficacy found against cervical infection 4 years after vaccination, according to researchers with the National Cancer Institute.


The Foundation has published its 2014-2015 Research Grants and Awards Booklet with Applications. Please consider applying to become part of an elite group of physician-scientists committed to the well-being of women at risk for/affected by gyn malignancies.


The next Ovarian Cancer Survivors Course will be Saturday, July 26, 2014 in Boston. For more information on courses, click here.