Press Release: Gynecologic Cancer Foundation Urges Women to Take 10 Minutes for a Risk Assessment Survey

Boca Raton, FL, February 16, 2003—Emmy-winner, Mariette Hartley, hosts another upcoming episode of the “Healthy Solutions” series, scheduled to air as paid programming on CNBC, Saturday, February 22 at 1:00pm Eastern Time (Noon CT, 11:00am MT, 10:00am PT) and on The Health Network, Sunday, February 23 at 8:00pm Eastern Time (7:00pm CT, 6:00pm MT, 5:00pm PT). Now in its seventh season, the half-hour television program explores the most important issues and topics related to America’s health and well being.

Go to the Risk Assessment Tool

The upcoming episode includes a special report entitled, Women’s Cancer Resources, which provides women with online resources and information about gynecologic cancer, announced Doug Humphreys, Executive Producer/CEO of the series.

According to the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation, every 7 minutes a woman in the United States is diagnosed with gynecologic cancer. Being aware of the warning signs, the importance of early detection and proper treatment are keys to survival. The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation has drawn on the power of the Internet to provide women with an interactive tool that can assess their individual risk for the cancers that affect them. Located on the Women’s Cancer Network web site at www.wcn.org, this survey provides women with a confidential assessment method, done in the privacy of their own homes.

“Because many of the cancers that affect women may show few symptoms initially, physicians who have been specially trained to treat these cancers recommend that women pay close attention to their bodies, especially those who are at high risk,” said Marti Shiner, VP of Programming for Healthy Solutions. “There are several tools at a woman’s disposal that may help reduce the risk of breast and gynecologic cancers, and in some cases, increase the likelihood of early detection.”

The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation (GCF) was founded by the Society of Gynecologic Oncologists (SGO) in 1991. GCF’s mission, in concert with SGO, is to support research, education and public awareness of gynecologic cancer prevention, early detection and optimal treatment. For more information about GCF and its programs contact GCFs toll free information hotline 1/800-444-4441 or visit GCF’s web site at www.thegcf.org.

“By design, we’ve created ‘Healthy Solutions’ to fit into even the busiest schedules,” said Humphreys. “Each segment is featured in streaming video on the show’s Web site. That way, if viewers miss an episode or are looking for specific advice, they can simply log on to www.healthysolutions.tv and watch on-demand.”

Newsrooms turn to TVI for timely solutions to life’s daily challenges and that’s just what “Healthy Solutions” offers. Each segment is reformatted and distributed via satellite as a Video News Release to over 750 domestic television stations. Local newsrooms deliver the information into America’s living rooms as news you can use.

TV Interactive, an eq group plc company (AIM: EQI), produces the “Healthy Solutions” series. TVI is an international leader in the production and distribution of healthcare related television and Web content. Founded in 1995, TVI was the world’s first independent television production company to fully integrate the power of Web broadcasting with original television programming.

Spotlight

Women Magazine released a special report on ovarian cancer, featuring Q&A’s with three expert SGO surgeons and important facts about the disease.

Awareness

This year’s GCAM awareness is focused on the important link between obesity and endometrial cancer. Check out the new toolkit to learn more.

Research

The Foundation for Women’s Cancer is pleased to share its 2014-2015 Research Grants and Awards booklet. The booklet describes the prizes and the application process. Prize applications are due on October 8, 2014.

Education

The Gynecologic Cancer Global Health Forum will be Saturday, Sept. 6, 2014 in D.C.. For more information on educational events and courses, click here.