Press Release: The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation Announces Research Award Recipients

Chicago, February 16, 2009—The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation (GCF) announces the recipients of its 2008 Research Grants and Awards. These awards were presented on February 5, 2009 at the Society of Gynecologic Oncologists 40th Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer in San Antonio, TX.

  • GCF/Mary-Jane Welker and Sherri’s From A Whisper To A Roar Ovarian Cancer Research Grant
    Dineo Khabele, MD, Vanderbilt University
  • GCF/Sarah Biedenharn Ovarian Cancer Research Grant
    Charles Landen, Jr., MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • GCF/Florence & Marshall Schwid Ovarian Cancer Research Grant
    John Liao, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
  • GCF/Ann Schreiber Ovarian Cancer Research Grant
    Alpa Nick, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • GCF/St. Louis Ovarian Cancer Awareness Research Grant
    Premal Thaker, MD, Washington University School of Medicine
  • GCF/Molly Cade Ovarian Cancer Research Grant
    Robert Wenham, MD, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center
  • Margaret Greenfield/Carmel Cohen, MD Excellence in Ovarian Cancer Research Prize
    Ronald Alvarez, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • GCF/Carol’s Cause Award for the Outstanding Paper by a Fellow
    Liz Han, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • GCF/Eli Lilly and Company Award for the Outstanding Paper by a Fellow
    Kimberly Resnick, MD, The Ohio State University Medical Center
  • The Ovarian Cancer Research Fund Symptoms Study with the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation
    Barbara Goff, MD, University of Washington

“Each year, the Awards Committee has a progressively more difficult time selecting the winners of the GCF research grants and awards and this year was no exception,” said Dr. Thomas J. Herzog, GCF Awards Chairman. “This is due to the combination of increasingly bright individuals selecting gynecologic oncology as their specialty and the significant advances in the science and translational research we see,” he continued.

Since the first award was granted in 1995, GCF has raised and distributed over $5M in research funding in support of 68 research and training grants.

The Margaret Greenfield/Carmel Cohen, MD Excellence in Ovarian Cancer Research Prize is awarded annually to the individual who can best demonstrate that they have been able to use their GCF award to improve women’s health care. Dr. Ronald Alvarez, this year’s recipient noted, “the Kea Simon Ovarian Cancer Award I received in 2004 provided pilot data on novel gene therapeutics that subsequently led to the award of a National Cancer Institute program project. I am very grateful to Mr. James Greenfield for establishing this award in honor of the his wife, the late Margaret A. Greenfield, and to Dr. Carmel Cohen and GCF for this great honor.”

For more information about GCF’s research program and women’s cancer, visit the Women’s Cancer Network at

The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation (GCF) is the foundation of the Society of Gynecologic Oncologists (SGO). GCF’s mission, in concert with SGO, is to support research, education and public awareness of gynecologic cancer prevention, early diagnosis and proper treatment. GCF advances this mission by increasing public funding to aid in the development and implementation of programs to meet these goals.


Couldn’t make it to the National Race to End Women’s Cancer? You can still support women with gynecologic cancers by making a contribution today.


September is Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month. #GCAM


The FWC is proud to offer various Research Grants and Awards. Click here for more information.


FREE Gynecologic Cancer Education Courses throughout the country. For more information, click here.